Editorial Review

Game On! Set 2 – Booklist review

Cover: Animal Crossing

The Game On! series takes readers behind the scenes of popular video game franchises to learn how their favorite games were developed and have changed over time. The books’ clean layouts feature sidebar facts and captioned photos of the featured games, their creators, and respec­tive gaming consoles. Short chapters, ranging two to four pages, give readers an overview of the gameplay, any record-breaking moments (sales, design firsts, etc.), and how different versions of the games have been received by fans. Animal Crossing digs into the many delightful it­erations of Nintendo’s life-simulation game, from its origins as Animal Forest (2001) to its recent desert-island setting in Animal Crossing: New Horizons (2020). The evolution of Link’s world of Hyrule is explained in The Legend of Zelda, which reveals that its fantasy setting and com­plex coding and gameplay set this game apart from the competition. Super Smash Bros. explains how changing the typical combat model, expanding the number of players allowed, and using beloved characters from other games made Super Smash Bros. “the best-selling fighting video game franchise of all time.” Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater shows how this game’s creators worked hard to incorporate skate culture into its gameplay experience, including authentic locations and music popu­lar with skateboarders. Each volume features a “Level Up” spread that compares different versions of its game and a concluding time line.

—Game On! Set 2 – Booklist review

Products Reviewed

Title   ATOS Format Qty
Animal Crossing 5.1
Game On! Set 2 (6 titles)
Sonic the Hedgehog 5.4
Super Smash Bros. 5.2
The Legend of Zelda 5.1
Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 5.3
  • New! Fall 2023
  • New! Spring 2023
  • New! Fall 2022

← Reviews